Prospective Property Owners


Houston Housing Authority Prospective Landlord Meetings will now be done using Zoom video conferencing.  Interested owners and property management staff should email Adrian D. Hudspeth at ahudspeth@housingforhouston.com to register for an invite to the next meeting.

Meetings are held from 2 - 4 p.m.   This seminar is an overview of the Housing Choice Voucher Program and answers many of the questions prospective and participating landlords face while working with HHA.

Meeting dates for 2020 are as follows:

Friday, January 24, 2020

Friday, February 21, 2020

Friday, March 20, 2020

Friday, April 17, 2020

Friday, May 29, 2020

Friday, June 26, 2020

Friday, July 24, 2020

Friday, August 21, 2020

Friday, September 18, 2020

Friday, October 16, 2020

Friday, October 13, 2020

Friday, November 13, 2020

Friday, December 11, 2020

January 25
February 22
March 29
April 26
May 31
June 28
July 26
August 30
September 27
October 25
November 15
December 13

Prospective and current landlords are invited to attend any or all of these meetings to learn more about working with the Houston Housing Authority. Staff members will provide an overview of the HHA program and go through the steps to lease to a Housing Choice Voucher Program participant. Topics covered include:

  • Finding a tenant
  • Approving a tenant
  • Submitting a leasing packet
  • Going through inspections
  • Approving a reasonable rent
  • Contracting and leasing
  • Receiving payment

These meetings are a great way to understand how the Housing Authority programs work to assist clients and pays rent subsidies on their behalf. Tips are given on how to find great tenants, keep your property leased, and better understand how this partnership works.

There are many benefits to participating in the Housing Choice Voucher Program as a property owner/landlord including:

  • Free advertising of available units
  • Guaranteed rent checks the first of each month
  • Annual inspections
  • Market rents
  • And knowing you've helped to provide affordable housing to Houston families.